Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/29/24 at 16:31:30 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Issues with my ZKit1 build (Read 1686 times)
Zan
Verified Member

Issues with my ZKit1 build
05/28/23 at 02:30:41

Hey all! This is my first time getting into electronics. I’ve just finished a wire up of my ZKit1 and I’m getting some funky voltages and no voltage from the tube cathodes.

A: 415V
B: 385V
C: 0V
D: 2.6V

I’m struggling to interpret the schematic to know how to proceed in debugging. I’ve tested all of the resistors and they are coming up with the correct values.

I find this extra confusing because the tubes are glowing which indicates to me that there’s *some* voltage at the cathodes. I could be wrong about that though. I also can’t find and solder bridges and the solder joints look good to me. How do I walk up the chain and test?

Thanks in advance.

Zan

IP Logged
Mannytheseacow
Ex Member

Re: Issues with my ZKit1 build
Reply #1 - 05/28/23 at 02:45:45

Hard to say but you’ve got really high voltage on the A and B so something is wrong very early in the power input section. Double check your part values there, your connections, and orientations.

IP Logged
Zan
Verified Member

Reply #2 - 05/28/23 at 03:08:34

I can’t see anything wrong at this stage. I did make a post on DIY audio forum because I got the wrong capacitors for the 33uf ones (I used Dayton 33uf polymer caps) but people seemed to think it would be fine that I didn’t get polarised ones.

I’m also doing the anniversary mod so maybe I hooked up the extra caps wrong? Pretty sure it matched the schematic.

All the resistors are showing the right values and the caps I have that are polarised are in the right orientation.

IP Logged
Zan
Verified Member

Reply #3 - 05/28/23 at 03:09:40

IP Logged
Mannytheseacow
Ex Member

Reply #4 - 05/28/23 at 04:05:47

I ran those Dayton caps for the anniversary mods for a short time and they worked just fine.