Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
05/05/24 at 18:59:54 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Help a newbie set up a system? (Read 13388 times)
garnold
Verified Member

Help a newbie set up a system?
04/18/13 at 16:10:34

Hi folks!  I'm an audiophile newbie who is looking to set up his first (and possibly second) real system.  I've been haunting the board here for a while as I research amps and speakers and whatnot.  I'm really impressed with what I hear (hah!) about Decware and Steve.  But now I've reached a point where I need to ask for some advice/help on my foray into the world of hi-fi...

I'm stepping up (*cough*divorced*cough*) from a typical HTIB system that was used for movies and occasional music to two systems in two rooms (in a house I haven't moved into yet, so my measurements are a bit eyeball).

The first room, the living room, will be completely music-oriented.  I listen to all kinds of music -- electronica (from ambient to dance/EBM), industrial, rock (modern & classic), rap, jazz, classical, singer/songwriter, even some country and opera on rare occasions.  Listening will range from background music with friends over for dinner to evening relaxation with a glass of wine to occasional rock-out sessions.  The room itself is about 10'x22' (+/- 2' in either dimension), with one half of one long wall open into other space - a stairwell and entry hallway.

The second room, the "media" room, will be for mixed movies and musical enjoyment.  It's much smaller, maybe 8'x12', and completely closed.  Nice and smooth zone-out music and punchy movie audio, here.

Both rooms will be sourced via Sonos.  The media room will also have an XBox and Raspberry Pi for video content.  So, all base source material is digital.