Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Advice for a newbie (Read 1943 times)
Coqui
Verified Member

Advice for a newbie
07/20/23 at 00:59:43

Hello,

I'm a newbie to tubes and I would really appreciate your assistance. I have been on the waiting list for the new Decware Rachael for more than one year.

I saw a thread in which people were taking about having a Decware Rachael and are very pleased with it. I have a pair of Omega Compact Alnico Monitors and Omega subwoofer to use with the amp and I plan to use this system in a small room/bedroom (9 X 14 feet). My sources are the following:
Bluesound Node 2 (original version)
Jay's Audio Cdt 2 mk3
Denafrips Pontus 12th Anniversary
Rega Planar 3

I also read that the Rachael likes sources with an output of 2.5 volts or more. I checked and I discovered that the Node 2, Jay's CD transport, and the Pontus output is only 2.0 volts. I would like to know if there is a solution to solve this problem and do I need to order a different amplifier (e.g., UFO 2.1, UFO 25th Anniversary). I have a second spot on the waiting list which I could use to order Decware preamp (CSP3), which I don't know if it could help compensate for the low voltage of my sources. Most threads tend to talk more about the SuperZen and the UFO 25th Anniversary amps and not as much about the Rachael.

Any suggestions or thoughts that could help me make a good decision as to which amplifier to order will be greatly appreciated.

Best Regards,

Ramón

IP Logged
Edsonic
Seasoned Member

Re: Advice for a newbie
Reply #1 - 07/22/23 at 11:26:23

What kind of music do you listen to, and at what loudness levels? It looks as though you had at one point decided on a Torii Jr. for an amplifier and now have changed to the SE34I (Rachael) amplifier, which leads me to think you aren't interested in reproducing a live rock concert experience in your room.