Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/26/24 at 06:02:21 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Decware House Sound Compared to CJ Sound (Read 1240 times)
DLM
Verified Member

Decware House Sound Compared to CJ Sound
08/05/22 at 19:37:03

Like anyone else on the Decware waitlist I'm getting anxious, excited and bored as I dream about what my new Decware amp will sound like while I wait for my order number to come up. I still love my fully restored 1976 Marantz 2325, but since I've been properly introduced to tube gear, I now know that's the sound I'm looking for.
Originally I had ordered a Torii Mk5 and have since changed my order to the new Sarah 300B.
Now I'm fairly new to tubes and have never actually listened to a Decware product, but have listened to various vintage and new ST-70's and some Conrad Johnson gear with the same type of speakers I'm using (Bob Crites CornScala) similar to new Klipsch Cornwall IV's.
Sorry if this question has already been asked, but I couldn't find anything in the forum....  
Has anyone owned both Decware and Conrad Johnson tube gear and can make a comparison of the two ?  How are they similar, how are they different and your listening preferences that suit one over the other ?

Thank you for helping me fill my time while I wait for my 300B.
Steve's latest update in the 300B thread kept me rivetted to my laptop.

IP Logged
Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Re: Decware House Sound Compared to CJ Sound
Reply #1 - 08/05/22 at 21:58:31

I've a lot of early experience with ST-70 and a bit of experience about 30 years ago with an integrated Conrad Johnson amp.

The Decware sound is different from these. It is "faster" and lighter sounding, more clarity and dynamics. Less of that thicker, rich vintage tube sound and more liveliness and vivid presence. That's the best way to describe the presentation that I can think of. I believe you will very much enjoy the sound.