03/28/24 at 15:07:46 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Considering Torii Jr (Read 9559 times)
Riche569
Verified Member

Considering Torii Jr
11/17/19 at 17:10:05

Hi I am new to Decware amps but have been following them for a while. I currently have an inexpensive tube preamp and solid state amp. I'm considering purchasing a Torii Jr during the Black Friday sale, but have never heard them and wonder about the claim of SET sound from EL34 tubes. I'm also considering the Line Magnetics 845ia SET amp which is considerably more expensive.  Does anyone have experience with Line Magnetic 845 SET amps and have any idea how they compare to the Torii Jr in terms of tone, detail, imaging etc.  Thanks!

Rogue RP1, NuForce STA200, Focal Aria 936, KEF LS50, PS Audio DS Jr, Avid Ingenium, Hana SL
  IP Logged
Donnie
Seasoned Member

Why does it hurt
when I pee?

Re: Considering Torii Jr
Reply #1 - 11/17/19 at 18:33:09

Riche,
Welcome to the forum.
What speakers are you trying to drive? That has as much to do with the sound as anything.

Owner of the infamous RED TORII and Dan the Redheaded Amp
  IP Logged
Riche569
Verified Member

Reply #2 - 11/17/19 at 19:22:33

Donnie,

Right now I'm trying to drive the Focal Aria 936 which are supposed to be about 90 db but while rated at 8 ohms I believe they drop below 4 ohms. I would also like to sometimes use them with the KEF LS50's although I know those are even less tube friendly. I might consider speakers geared towards low powered tube amps in the future.  I've also considered the Pass XA25 which, again is more expensive or the Rogue Stereo 100, which I haven't heard. I know that would give more flexibility with speakers but don't know how it would be in terms of tone.

Rogue RP1, NuForce STA200, Focal Aria 936, KEF LS50, PS Audio DS Jr, Avid Ingenium, Hana SL
  IP Logged
Donnie
Seasoned Member

Why does it hurt
when I pee?

Reply #3 - 11/17/19 at 20:48:29