03/29/24 at 09:13:54 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Help Getting Started (Read 5328 times)
NothingButTreble
Verified Member

Help Getting Started
01/04/18 at 20:26:30

I admit that I'm a completely uninformed newbie with the Rachael, with the exception that I know it is extremely high quality, and I'm definitely trying to make sure the one I have remains among the living.  

(And unfortunately I didn't see the specific forum for each product, so I posted a previous question in the general section, but now I'm thinking this is the better place to ask.)

I am trying to connect a Rega P3 turntable to the Rachael.  I've been able to figure out most of the other steps, and I'm at an impasse due to the grounding wire from the P3.

One person has said the turntable should be connected to a pre-amp, but the Decware literature says this isn't necessary, and many times even worse than no pre-amp.  So I'm thinking it is OK to connect the P3 directly to the Rachael, but it would be nice to have that confirmed by the experts here.

I have researched, and other Decware manuals show a "GROUND" which isn't shown in the Rachael manual.

I'm wanting to err on the side of caution, so I'm not connecting anything or turning anything on until I'm certain it is OK.  I know it is probably blatantly obvious to anybody with some knowledge of these amps, but I am still at the starting line.  I've done a fair bit of research, but there just isn't any basic "unboxing" video or even photos of the Rachael connected to anything, except for one by miller88 https://www.decware.com/cgi-bin/yabb22/YaBB.pl?num=1411739097 and I can't see the detail of the connections there.  There may be something by Syd too, but once again I never saw any photos showing what I was hoping to see.

Thank you for any help with this.

IP Logged
Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Re: Help Getting Started
Reply #1 - 01/04/18 at 20:35:00

There is a difference between a "preamp" and a