Seasoned Member

Listening to the
music not the
equipment

807 Tubes?
08/27/17 at 15:52:00

Opinions on brand preference.
RCA or Brimar.
How do we know where a Brimar tube is made.

IP Logged
hdrider
Seasoned Member

On the path with
Decware.

Re: 807 Tubes?
Reply #1 - 09/03/17 at 16:15:32

Sonic- I bought a set of Chinese 807's from Roger @ Ram Labs just as a test in our Rachael, and liked what I heard. I then purchased a set of 1940's vintage RCA 807's from VTS and have been running them for months. I really enjoy the overall tone and balance. The tubes have been very stable, no issues at all. The imaging and soundstage when playing records is fantastic. I love the versatility of the Rachael amp. I will latch onto another brand as we head into winter. I have no knowledge where Brimar tubes are/where made. What are your experiences? Happy listening on this holiday weekend, Chris.

CSP3, Rachael, ZP3, ZMC 1, Sony ES Bluray, Schitt Bitfrost DAC,Sota Star TT w/ FR-64, Hana SL Low Output Moving coil, Omega 7XRS Mk 2 walnut, DeepOmega 8 sub, Morrow Audio PH3 and MA3 IC's, Gamma Electrostatic phones.
  IP Logged
SonicSeeker
Seasoned Member

Listening to the
music not the
equipment

Reply #2 - 09/04/17 at 14:09:42

I ended up buying the Brimars, they came Saturday, nice looking tube.
Unfortunately the adapters wont be here for a while, China. Sad
Anxious to try them though.

IP Logged
hdrider
Seasoned Member

On the path with
Decware.

Reply #3 - 09/04/17 at 16:50:52

Sonic- I was very surprised at the build quality of the adaptors from China. It was my first purchase on eBay and from China. Took about four weeks and of course when I opened them I wished I had purchased at least two sets. Who did you get the Brimars from?Happy listening, Chris

CSP3, Rachael, ZP3, ZMC 1, Sony ES Bluray, Schitt Bitfrost DAC,Sota Star TT w/ FR-64, Hana SL Low Output Moving coil, Omega 7XRS Mk 2 walnut, DeepOmega 8 sub, Morrow Audio PH3 and MA3 IC's, Gamma Electrostatic phones.
  IP Logged