04/27/24 at 22:34:35 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Hello, my first post (Read 2161 times)
Gilf
Seasoned Member

Hello, my first post
09/04/23 at 23:34:50

Hi. I’ve been lurking here for some time and thought it was time to finally break the ice.  :)
I have about 40 years experience with tube amps of various sorts from high wattage to low wattage SETs, hifi, lowfi, professional recording studios, and live sound reinforcement. I started my interests in vinyl, reel to reel, and cassette tapes, as well as 2 inch analog tape in the recording studios and primarily stream digital now.
Despite being around the block a time or two I have learned a lot reading this forum and hope to contribute back at least a small fraction compared to what I have learned.
One of the things at the forefront of my thoughts reading through years of posts today is more about what i have learned from what is not said as much as what is said. Reading the various topics it feels as though we can really get to know the individual members (a really positive thing after two years of pandemic!). We get to know their musical tastes, their systems, their rooms, etc. I will hopefully share more about myself in the future. I can’t help but think that many of the recommendations and experiences shared here should come with a caveat or handicap statement. For example if someone is making tube recommendations and they primarily listen to old recordings and don’t have any room treatment then a person with a properly treated room listening to music that represents a full sound spectrum would have a drastically different experience with those tubes. Similarly a vinyl listener may have a very different experience with a set of speakers than a digital listener.