04/28/24 at 18:46:27 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Newbie Vinyl Question (Read 2766 times)
RisingSun
Verified Member

Newbie Vinyl Question
04/23/23 at 23:51:22

As I posted in the ZRock2 forum, I’m auditioning a Pro-Ject Debut Pro turntable from Crutchfield.  It has a Sumiko Rainier cartridge and is going into the phono stage on an integrated amp.  I’m completely new to vinyl and have a very elaborate digital chain that sounds great.  It was my understanding that to get comparable sound quality out of vinyl would require spending several times what I spend on the digital side.

Much to my surprise, the $1000 Pro-Ject sounds amazing!  Wow.  Rivals my SACD department.

There is something of concern.  I bought two brand new records (as I own none), Getz/ Gilberto and Midnight Blue (Kenny Burrell).  Verve Acoustic Sounds and Blue Note Classic.  Nothing fancy, both cost about $25 new.

When the stylus first makes contact with the record there’s a loud pop.  It plays normally after that.

Is this initial loud pop normal?  Or is it a sign of a defect?  I went to great lengths to get the tonearm balanced exactly right - took over an hour with the Pro-Jext teeter totter system.

Grateful for any insight.

IP Logged
chapsjon
Seasoned Member

Re: Newbie Vinyl Question
Reply #1 - 04/24/23 at 00:40:12

How is the stylus making initial contact with the record? If you "drop" the arm/ stylus on the record it can be quite loud as cartridges are meant to read micro grooves in the record. By design, extremely small vibrations will make noise, meaning larger vibrations on the stylus can be very loud.

On some of my turntables I use the cue to drop the stylus and it will be relatively soft because it is a well adjusted hydraulic cue. On other turntables, I drop the tonearm/ stylus by hand because either the cue drops the tonearm too hard or it doesn't have a cue. It can take some practice to learn to drop the tonearm gently.