Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/29/24 at 15:49:00 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
New Torii Jr closing in on 100 hours (Read 457 times)
JMeader

New Torii Jr closing in on 100 hours
03/05/23 at 20:45:53

First as you approach 100 hours you do start to hear differences and they are very positive. So if you like your system before the Torii you will still like your system day one but probably not hear what you bought the amp for at first.

As I have said before before this is my first tube amp and I have no prior experience with tubes. Because of that I really thought I was in for a BIG in your face change. Day one that did not occur. The sound was still good but so was my system before. I think this is most likely because I had spent close to a month getting my La Scala's set up for my room ( pictures in earlier posts ) Since your room can play close to 50% of what you hear, and using speaker you like the sound of,  that combination does not leave much room for improvements.

Now closing in on 100 hours the changes are beginning to appear in my system in my room with my other components, everyone else will be different.

They are ; depth of sound stage. setting about 12 feet away from my speakers it sounds likes I am at a rehearsal near the back of the room and the only one there. I think some minor speaker adjustments will bring the center stage a bit more forward which I think will be more enjoyable. At times the left and right sound stage seems to be closer than the center. But depth of center sound stage was the major reason for me to get a tube amp and a Decware amp.

Sound decay, was previously not an attribute my system had. I am now experiencing it as we close in on 100 hours. The sound decay  is both say the drum stick hitting the rim and diminishing, but also the studio room with all sounds. the last part especially noticeable in quite pieces.