Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/29/24 at 12:35:44 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Listening in a large, hard room (Read 1770 times)
M_P
Verified Member

Listening in a large, hard room
06/24/22 at 15:58:07

My second system is in a largish room in a last-century industrial building. The room dimensions are: 20’W x 40’L x 16’H. It’s my editing studio (I’m a documentary photographer) and surface-wise it’s “hard”. The floor is plywood, the walls are 5/8”sheetrock and the ceiling is wood. There are a few smallish windows at one end but they are covered with thick cardboard and accordion shades since photo editing requires dim consistent light.

The system is simple: A Bluesound node feeds Roon from a Mac mini to an Elekit TU-8200DX which feeds two Big Betsy’s I built from Steve’s plans. It sounds great, but compared to my home streaming system (Decware UFO2 => Omega Compact Alnico speakers) it’s a little edgy, if that makes sense. I suspect it’s the reverb in the big room that’s absent from my small, carpeted office listening space at home which is filled with lots of books and furniture.

I play the studio system at low levels (<75DB) and have it centered in the big room with the speakers pulled out from a long wall about 48”. They are about 8’ apart and my upholstered listening chair is about 8’ from each of them. There’s an unpadded floor rug in front of the speakers and I’ve got a half dozen padded shipping blankets folded and hanging in various locations around the speakers. So, the listening area is sort of a softer spot in the middle of a quite hard room. It’s really not bad, but I’d like to tone down some of the edginess.

I’m hoping you far more knowledgeable folks can offer some thoughts about low-budget options that might round the sound a bit. Thanks!

Michael

Home office: Mac mini => SMSL SU-9 => SE84UFO2 => Omega CAMS or Bottlehead Crack => Sennheiser HD-6XX