04/25/24 at 13:20:27 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
DIY studio system (Read 785 times)
M_P
Verified Member

DIY studio system
11/12/21 at 17:09:27

Hi everyone. I’m new here; this is my first post. I’ve recently renewed an earlier-in-life interest in music listening and am about to complete a new desktop system when my UFO2 arrives (should be soon—as of this writing I’m third on the list). The new system will consist of streaming through ROON via a Mac Mini > Schiit Modi3+ > SE84UFO2 > Omega CAMs. I’m looking forward to it.

I’d like to create a system for my studio too (I’m a documentary photographer). It’s a large, hard space 16’ wide, 16’ high, 32’ deep—part of an old cotton mill. There’s really not much opportunity to acoustically treat this space. I do have a small living area type arrangement at one end with an upholstered chair and area rug, but they are the only soft surfaces on tap. The floor and ceiling are both made of wood at least 4” thick with wide-spaced large support beams. The walls are sheet rock. Very little exposed glass, fortunately.

I’d like to employ my somewhat rusty skills—I’m a retired cabinetmaker—to build a set of high-efficiency speakers for this space. So, is there any advice you might offer on DIY speaker designs suited for a space like this. Near-field designs seem appropriate to me since the surfaces are hard, but I only know enough to be dangerous so am open to any and all suggestions. BTW, I’d like to keep cost down to a dull roar too—maybe a $1000-$1500 budget.

I also have rudimentary soldering skills (Heathkit from long ago and Bottlehead Crack recently) and would like to build an amplifier for above mentioned speakers. Tubes are my first choice—I like the glow and the sound ;o) If you have ideas on low power, sweet sounding amplification in kit form that adds a few hundred bucks to my previously cited budget, I’m all ears. Thanks for reading!

Michael P.