Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/28/24 at 14:01:38 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Sold on SE84UFO25 - need help (Read 4429 times)
Arthur
Verified Member

Sold on SE84UFO25 - need help
06/08/21 at 19:10:34

Dear Decware fans and Steve Smiley

I have been following the SE84UFO25 forum and I got very excited, so yes, this kind of marketing works well Smiley I decided to buy one, but only if I can get better sound than with my current system.
I would like to give some background on my current system and expectations, and I'm looking for advice on how to best pair the SE84UFO25 with my current gear, and hopefully find the right speakers for it Smiley

I'm pretty new to the audiophile world, started last December with a new system: Rega Elex-R, Rega RP3 turntable, Parasound zdacV2, Dynaudio Emit M20 speakers. It lasted about a month, then I started to look for new speakers, ended up with a pair of second hand Joseph Audio Pulsar 2 Graphene bookshelf speakers. Then I realized my turntable sounded horrible so I bought a Dr. Feickert Venti with a Reed 1-X tonearm and a Hana Umami Red MC cartridge. Of course I needed a new MC pre-amp, went for a Tron Seven tubed, then got as well a Heed Audio Quasar MC+MM, tested back and forth, Tron was better, but I did not like the looks, so I got recently an Icon Audio PS3 MK2 David Shaw edition (awesome). Of course, I had to change my amp as well, so after a lot of research I ended up with a PrimaLuna EVO400i (as I needed the watts for the pulsars). I purchased GIK acoustic panels but still did not reach audio nirvana. I had the speakers on the long wall, firing down the short walls and I was having a lot of standing waves. I rotated the room 90degrees, so now I have my speakers in front of the floor-to-ceiling windows, firing down the long walls, with my couch in the middle of the room, and the sound is pretty amazing.