Decware Audio Forums
03/28/24 at 17:46:29 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
New Torii Jr (Read 3460 times)
Greg C

New Torii Jr
04/21/20 at 22:44:22

...I have been enjoying my new Torii for about 4 months now and have a question on volume between my left and right side...lm new to the tube amps so bear with me...from the time I first fired my amp up l have had to turn the left side up a little more then the right...to give you a idea how much, I have chicken head knobs, the left is set to 1:00 o’clock and the right is set to 11:00 o’clock ...this evens both sides out (left/right) to same volume output...I run this amp roughly 3-4 hrs a day so my mindset was maybe it needs some hrs on it to balance out, but the only thing that has happened is it is sounding better and the volume difference between each side has stayed the same...talked to Steve yesterday and he wanted me to change all the tubes from the right to the left and the left to the right to see if the output tubes we’re miss-matched... I did that and found out that it did change ....now the left side is stronger than the right so we know that it’s a tube problem...while laying in bed last night I was wondering about this and I did not know if this is something that you just live with owning a tube amp or if you deal with it and get it to even out...I thought when I get up in the morning I’m goin to move just one tube at a time and see if it changes...so I switched the two input tubes (6922) and fired up the amp ...to my surprise the higher gain moved back to the right, just by switching the input tubes...can this be the problem ?....I was thinking it would be the output tubes...would a bad input tube cause this to happen?...would appreciate any help from a member who has a little more knowledge on this than I
Thanks
Greg

TORII JR
CSP3
ZP3
ZROCK
ZBIT
NAD C658 DAC
PIONEER RT-707
REGA PLANAR 6 / EXACT 2 MM
ERRx
SENNHEISER HD 800S
  IP Logged
Archie
Seasoned Member

Re: New Torii Jr
Reply #1 - 04/22/20 at 00:27:03