Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/26/24 at 15:33:59 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Advice Recording LPs/other on to Reel to Reel (Read 2222 times)
Joe
Verified Member

Advice Recording LPs/other on to Reel to Reel
12/15/19 at 16:49:21

So I am a R2R beginner and a tube amp virgin. Currently record LPs on to R2R via vintage Pioneer SX-1050 receiver.  Very straight forward and no problem. I am now awaiting my Rachael and ZP3 with tape option installed to be delivered and wondering about proper set up and function. Seems like playback is straightforward, I unplug the TT input cables from the ZP3 and replace them with the R2R input cables AND also change switch settings on the ZP3 from LP to Tape. Hopefully I am right about that?  

Now for recording LPs and other media using the Rachael and ZP3 unto the R2R this is where it gets fuzzy. I admit, if I actually had both the Rachael and ZP3 in my possession I could try different configurations but I am posing this question to make sure I am ready to go when my Rachael and ZP3 arrive (also making sure I didn’t screw up my understanding of the use of the equipment).

My assumption is that unlike my Pioneer receiver, the Rachael will not have any switches to create a Tape Loop for recording and then switch to playback without plugging/unplugging cables. That being said, I imagine that to record LPs I will leave the TT input cables plugged into the ZP3, BUT then the output cables from the ZP3 will then be plugged directly into the R2R AND then from the R2R I then run output cables directly to the Rachael.  Is that right? I think this creates the Tape Loop to record LPs and also listen to the playback via the Racheal (either headphones or speakers).

If the above is correct, then I assume that to record other media unto R2R, I simply put the R2R so that it receives the output cables from that media (e.g. CD player) and then the output cables from R2R goes the Rachael?