Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/28/24 at 14:59:46 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
The more I learn, the "confused'r" I get - Zen Kit (Read 11232 times)
Steve
Verified Member

The more I learn, the "confused'r" I get - Zen Kit
03/08/17 at 00:46:42

I have a Decware Taboo for my headphones and LOVE it. I built a set of Betsys and they are sounding great so far. I want a tube amp to power them. I saw Zen Kit #1, and thought two of them bridged would be great. The page made it seem pretty straight-forward, as far as parts and directions.

Then I started digging in deeper, reading threads on this forum. I saw comments like 'some parts are no longer available - what do I use?', 'the list doesn't include all parts,' the possibility of making a change from a ss rectifier to a tube version. (Not to mention the option of doing a point-to-point build.)

I am TOTALLY new to the electronic side of DIY. I have a friend who is good at soldering who is going to help, but I'm wondering if there is some "updated" parts list (with upgrade options), OR if you former builders would consider it a worthwhile 'service to humanity' to compile one...

I do see past builders are very helpful to new people. It just seems a compilation of 'lessons learned' would be valuable.

Just a thought...

IP Logged
Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Re: The more I learn, the "confused'r" I get - Zen Kit
Reply #1 - 03/08/17 at 01:02:19

Have you tried the Taboo with the Betsys?  I have a Taboo and haven't tried them with any efficient speakers (just a pair of bookshelf speakers that are very inefficient, they sounded okay but didn't get loud?)

A bird in the hand. . . .:)

HR-1,ZTPRE,ZBIT,ZROCK2,SEWE300B,CSP3-25mod,Taboo MkIV;Rega RP3 all GrooveTracer mods;PSAudio:PST+DSD,P15,NPC,PowerBases,AC-12 pwr cbls,Reference spkrcbls;Mapleshade SamsonV3;VooDoo:Cremona+Amati interconnects, IsoPods; headphones:Sennheiser HD800S,ZMF Ori,Oppo PM1