Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/23/24 at 23:29:28 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Headphones on the mini Torii (total neophyte) (Read 4549 times)
Tremendosaur
Verified Member

Headphones on the mini Torii (total neophyte)
07/08/16 at 15:30:18

I'll preface the question by saying I have never worked with tube amps before so it's a brand new world for me.

I'd like to feed a set of headphones from the mini torri's output jacks, which I presume can be accomplished via a male stereo RCA -> 1/4 female cable.

I have read that tube amps shouldn't be turned on if not connected to speakers. Will I damage the unit if I just go the headphone route? I know that this is probably a ridiculous question but I'm trying to tread carefully with the unit.

Thanks in advance!

IP Logged
Denizen
Verified Member

Re: Headphones on the mini Torii (total neophyte)
Reply #1 - 07/08/16 at 21:26:48

Yeah, you could do it that way, but you would probably have an impedance
mismatch, you could also set up a rig coming straight off the speaker binding posts and into a headphone jack. You would still have an impedance
mismatch, most headphones are anywhere from 30 to 600 ohms.

I would be careful you could seriously overdrive your headphones and damage them.

I see decware can add a headphone for a $100.00 and add resistors to better match your headphones.

I have also heard you can damage your output xfrmr by leaving speakers disconnected but I have never had any issues with my Torii or my Rachael or any other amp for that matter, so I wouldn't worry about it.

IP Logged
Tremendosaur
Verified Member

Reply #2 - 07/09/16 at 02:50:32

Thanks so much for the reply. My biggest concern was any damage, and between the few replies I've gotten on forums it appears that the amp is safe.

After giving it a shot I've learned two things: