04/23/24 at 15:37:45 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Turntable advise (Read 7327 times)
jorgen
Seasoned Member

Turntable advise
05/25/15 at 11:40:57

Newbie on turntables, just bought a Thorens td160,please see link, but I have no knowledge with arm or pick up.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/311360611381?_trksid=p2057872.m2748.l2649&ssPageName=S...

Down the road I will add a zp3, but for now I have to settle with a cheaper solution, and rather buy some records. I do not know if the arm is ok, better than ok or not ok... So be gentle but honest, should I be a happy guy? Is the installed pu ok for a while or do I need to get a better on right away?

Can I use all kind of pickups with this player and arm? Recommendations? In some ways I'm thinking mm pickups so I don't need a step up transformer, but not sure if this is the best way to save a dollar.

IP Logged
jorgen
Seasoned Member

Re: Turntable advise
Reply #1 - 05/25/15 at 13:34:40

Lin,; thanks a lot.. But why?

IP Logged
JD
Seasoned Member

Reply #2 - 05/25/15 at 15:48:04

Jorgen,

Don't think you'll be able to tell until you get it set up but at that price point I think you got a pretty good deal.  Wouldn't doubt that you'll need a tune up since the table is from 78 but Thorens is a good name and that arm is known to sound well if in good working condition.  The cartridge prob will need replacing and there are plenty of mm Ortofon cartridges you could try out.  I've only had a couple older tables and they were very finicky but they were fine until I knew I loved listening to vinyl and upgraded.  I've never owned a Thorens though.
Take it home listen and go from there, worse case scenario is it doesn't work out but in this hobby you need to take some chances.  
Best of luck,

JD

IP Logged
hdrider
Seasoned Member

On the path with
Decware.

Reply #3 - 05/25/15 at 16:20:42