Send Topic Print
Donnie needs help (Read 11138 times)
Donnie
Seasoned Member

Why does it hurt
when I pee?

Donnie needs help
09/20/14 at 20:51:48

I've been hanging out around here for 4 or 5 years now and never really paid any attention to all of the tube rolling information. It never really interested me as long as music came out of my speakers. Everything else was PFM to me.
Well, now I'm asking what the "Hot Setup" is for my Torii III?
I'm down to one channel because the 5U4G tube decided to plum blow up.
I have run this thing at least 4 hours a day for the last 4 years, so I have gotten my money's worth out of everything.
So I'm wondering what to replace everything with? I figure that if I replace everything at once, I've got a few years of uninterrupted playing ahead in front of me.
So tell me what to buy and where to buy it from. I really can't discern sounds the way you all talk about, just play it loud for me and I'm good.

Owner of the infamous RED TORII and Dan the Redheaded Amp
  IP Logged
Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Re: Donnie needs help
Reply #1 - 09/20/14 at 20:57:24

Donnie,

I'd recommend as a cost-effective and nice sounding rectifier fix that you order a pair of the Valve Art 274B rectifiers, preferably cryo'd, those at www.cryoset.com are very good. That will get you up and running again.

Your power tubes probably are due for replacement, and I'd suggest checking out KT-66 tubes. I've been using Genelax Gold Lion KT-66 with great results. I also get these cryo'd from cryoset.com

Your input and regulation tubes may well be fine. If you want to replace the regulation I'd recommend RCA OB3 and RCA OA2 tubes, that's a good combination I find. And input tubes. . . after long years of experimenting and finding cryo'd 6N1P to be the stuff, I have shifted to vintage 7308 input tubes.