Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/27/24 at 04:28:54 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Which Amp For My Cornscalas < $2000 (Read 6981 times)
geezerrocket
Verified Member

Which Amp For My Cornscalas < $2000
12/02/13 at 22:04:58

Hello all;

I am new to Decware, but have been a longtime audiophile.
Having stated that, I will go ahead and ask the question that most of do NOT want to read for the 1,000th time (or more).

I cannot decide which Decware amp will be right for me as it relates to my musical tastes and speakers. I have tried to go through a lot of the archived posts to find something I could relate to but I only have so much time.

I currently have a Fisher X-202-B that has been taken as far as it can go thanks to NOS Valves and McShane Design. I have decided to sell it because its way more power than I need for my speakers and I feel there is more un-tapped sound  available.

The speakers are Cornscalas - sort of. They have a Altec 802-8g compression driver and 811b mid horn, Beyma CP25 tweeter, and a Crites/Eminence cast frame 15" woofer. The crossover network is a ALK Engineering extreme slope around 120 db/octave. I would estimate them to be around 96 to 97 db efficient, although I have heard of others claiming similar designs to be 100 db - I believe that to be fantasy as the crossover here is anything but simple.

The rest of the system includes Sony Es 777 sacd/cd player, Schiit Bifrost Uber DAC, Lenco L75 table, Rega rb 250 arm, Denon 103r cartridge, Jolida JD-9 phono preamp, DH Labs Revelation cables and DH Labs Q-10 speaker cables, Mac Mini, Fisher KM-60 FM tuner.

My musical tastes mimick that of anyone else afflicted with multiple personality disorder; 70's & 80's rock, blues, metal, Celtic, a little jazz and classical. When you can go from Simon and Garfunkel "Bridge Over Troubled Water" to "For Whom The Bell Tolls" by Metallica. IB - S-K-I-T-S-O.