Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
05/07/24 at 11:55:19 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Hello, and some questions... (Read 22598 times)
Mark
Seasoned Member

Hello, and some questions...
06/09/12 at 04:45:59

Hello: I am a pianist and lover of good sound, but am on a tight budget. I've also spent more time than I can recall in front of a Revox A77 recording choral and chamber music with good omni-directional mikes.

I currently have a pair of kit speakers, Tang Band D3-1's, back-horn loaded, front-firing horns... They are rated at 88 db, but my experience tells me that they are more like 92 db... 3" full-range drivers, but oh, what a mighty 3" they are...

My room is 13 ' x 17',  and the speakers fire into the length... 5/8" fire code drywall, nothing on the walls... I sit about ten feet from the speakers. I currently have a Musical Paradise MP 301 MK II SET amp, but I think I can do much better, IMHO... The amp has about 4 WPC... I normally listen with the volume control at about 9:00, but 10:00 at the highest...

I have been lusting after a Zen Triode for some time now-- long enough, in fact, for it to have gone through a few iterations... But at the beginning of July, I'll finally have enough dough in my hot little hands to order one...

I was unable to post a link to the Tang Band D3-1's but they can be found on the TB website...

Anyway, any comments on this issue would be greatly appreciated...

Thanks, and best regards, Mark.

If a rabbit defined intelligence the way man does, then the most intelligent animal would be a rabbit, followed by the animal most willing to obey the commands of a rabbit. -Robert Brault, writer (b. 1938)
  IP Logged
Rivieraranch
Seasoned Member

Re: Hello, and some questions...
Reply #1 - 06/09/12 at 13:17:58

Welcome. I am sure that the ZEN amp will do a fine job with this setup of yours.