Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/29/24 at 00:13:48 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Moving Iron Cartridge for ZP3 (Read 10981 times)
Mganga
Verified Member

Moving Iron Cartridge for ZP3
11/10/11 at 21:43:28

I have a Michelle Gyrodec SE with TecnoArm and am planning on running it through a ZP3.  Does anyone have any experience with this combination?  Any recs on cartridges?  Specifically looking at the SMMC1 by Soundsmith which is a moving iron (output >0.6 mV/cm/sec).  Is the ZP3 up to task for this cartridge?  To be honest, I am fairly new to turntables and have only used moving magnets, but understand that moving irons do not require step up transformers - correct?  Appreciate the help.

IP Logged
Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Re: Moving Iron Cartridge for ZP3
Reply #1 - 11/10/11 at 22:52:44

That's an interesting question. I would call Steve and ask. . .he would know if you need M1, M2, or M3 or no M unit at all. . . .

HR-1,ZTPRE,ZBIT,ZROCK2,SEWE300B,CSP3-25mod,Taboo MkIV;Rega RP3 all GrooveTracer mods;PSAudio:PST+DSD,P15,NPC,PowerBases,AC-12 pwr cbls,Reference spkrcbls;Mapleshade SamsonV3;VooDoo:Cremona+Amati interconnects, IsoPods; headphones:Sennheiser HD800S,ZMF Ori,Oppo PM1
  IP Logged
Rivieraranch
Seasoned Member

Reply #2 - 11/10/11 at 23:16:16

You probably need a step up. Most moving magnets are 4-6 Mv. This is only .6, which is very low output.

MINI TORII & ZROCK2 both anniversaried; 'Lil Audio F-15; TECHNICS SL1200MK2 KAB MODDED TT; ONKYO 6 DISC CD; MARANTZ 2226B; SCHIIT MULTIBIT DAC; SENNHEISER HD-580s
55   IP Logged
Mganga
Verified Member

Reply #3 - 11/11/11 at 20:27:01