Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/20/24 at 16:43:30 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Which amp for Audeze headphones? (Read 15259 times)
Don W

Which amp for Audeze headphones?
09/20/11 at 16:36:14

Hi there, I'm new to Decware and new to tube amps. Am thinking about upgrading headphone amp which is used mainly for Audeze LCD-2. (I will work on speakers later, so having full amp makes sense.) I'm mainly interested in which would be better amp for Audeze - the Mini Torii or Taboo. Web pages for each claim to be excellent amp for LCD-2, but which is better? One thing I am particuclarly interested in is bringing out the base that is inherently available with the LCD-2's.

Also, I guess if it is a draw for sound quality relative to the LCD-2's the next question would be which is the better amp for sound quality through speakers.

Decware: Taboo, CSP2+, Mini-Torii, MG944, ERR, Zen Styx, DSR-II interconnects, DHC-1 power cables. Other: Audeze LCD-3 w/ Q cables, EE Mini-Max DAC Plus, Audio-gd SA-1 DAC, Audio-gd DI-DSP USB to Coaxial converter. Homemade PC with JRiver Media Center.
  IP Logged
Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Re: Which amp for Audeze headphones?
Reply #1 - 09/20/11 at 17:04:26

You could also consider the CSP2, which would give you a fantastic preamp as well.

HR-1,ZTPRE,ZBIT,ZROCK2,SEWE300B,CSP3-25mod,Taboo MkIV;Rega RP3 all GrooveTracer mods;PSAudio:PST+DSD,P15,NPC,PowerBases,AC-12 pwr cbls,Reference spkrcbls;Mapleshade SamsonV3;VooDoo:Cremona+Amati interconnects, IsoPods; headphones:Sennheiser HD800S,ZMF Ori,Oppo PM1
  IP Logged
Don W

Reply #2 - 09/20/11 at 17:46:57

The web site for the Taboo implies that it is better for Planer Magnetic phones (aka the Audeze) than the CSPD:

Quote: