Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/28/24 at 18:43:54 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Decware Imperial from Africa to Sweden (Read 3307 times)
Cobra
Verified Member

Decware Imperial from Africa to Sweden
08/29/08 at 21:13:24

I asked some questions earlier this year about how the UREI 813 elements and their time aligned crossovers would fit in the Imperials and I got an answer from the master himself that it would fit. I have now tonight connected the first speaker of the pair to my HIFI and it is amazing... I built a pair of speakers two years ago based on a Swedish bass reflex patent that was adjusted to match the Altec Lansing 604 8K. They sound very good but now with the Imperial standing beside them they are not only midgets in size but also in sound reproduction. However there is some flaws in the design that I bought and downloaded. The braces A should be at least 130 cm to be flush to the bottom reflecting plate and you should also be careful with the gap from the compression chamber. Minor issues but anyway the sound is amazing. Through my years I have owned a variety of speakers ranging from Magneplanar Tympani and downwards but the old Altec Lansing 604 8G koaxial with the Eminence 15" bass speaker from the old UREI 813 takes the price.    

IMAG0081.jpg
  IP Logged
Valiant

Re: Decware Imperials equipped with UREI 813
Reply #1 - 09/03/08 at 14:59:06

Hi Cobra,
"you should also be careful with the gap from the compression chamber."
Careful in what way?
Cheers
Gaz

IP Logged
Cobra
Verified Member

Reply #2 - 09/29/08 at 20:54:51

I have now the second Imperial up and running. Unfortunately was one of the 604 8G and one of the Eminence 15" bass speaker damaged at Johannesburg intl ground handling. I managed to repair the 604 8G but not the bass speaker. Instead I bought a pair of P-Audio C15 500LF 500 Watt bass speakers. They have a FS of 39Hz, VAS 155 liters, QTS 0.29.