05/03/24 at 09:39:32 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
ZBIT Options (Read 1078 times)
Kamran
Seasoned Member

ZBIT Options
09/26/23 at 02:18:49

So I can’t stay away from Decware lists.  As my Sarah nears completion, I pulled the trigger on a ZBIT.  While I’ve ordered the option with a single stepped attenuator, had the following questions:

1) Any members who swear by dual stepped attenuators?  I’ve been playing with a single stepped attenuator for a couple of months and love the simplicity of a master volume setting that impacts both channels.  Is the added complexity of a dual stepped attenuators worth it?

2) I saw an option for two sets of RCA outs—how would that work in practice considering you’re still using a single source (balanced DAC) into a single set of XLR inputs? In other words, to what end?

Innuos Pulse Streaming Transport and Phoenix Net Switch-Holo Audio Spring 3 KTE DAC-Ic0n4 Autoformer Passive Pre-Sarah 300B SET Amp-ZBIT-GIK Room Treatment-Caintuck Audio Magnum Baffles—Li Audio Fast 15 Drivers-P.I. Audio MajikBuss & Puritan PSM 156 Conditioners
  IP Logged
Bottlehead
Seasoned Member

Re: ZBIT Options
Reply #1 - 12/06/23 at 05:41:52

Hey Kamran,

Sorry, I just saw this. I believe the second set of RCA outs could send the signal to a subwoofer, or another amplifier if biamping. Maybe someone else with experience can chime in here?

Randy

IP Logged
Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Reply #2 - 12/06/23 at 12:09:56

I like stepped attenuators on Decware components. I have two ZBITs with stepped attenuators and use them often to compensate channel levels in my untreated room and with some recordings.

And I also have one with the attenuators AND two RCA outputs. I'm not using the second output at the moment, but did in the past to feed to my amplifier and to a phono preamp and in another configuration to a headhone amp.