Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/28/24 at 16:52:50 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Sarah 300B Impressions (Read 6803 times)
Ghostship
Seasoned Member

Sarah 300B Impressions
06/29/23 at 19:09:06

Decware Zen Sarah SEWE300B Amplifier Impressions

Ok, with ~600 hours on the Sarah, ~250 with the economy tubes plus WE300Bs, and ~350 with the full Cryotone Bundle with Cryotone 300Bs, I have some impressions. I know some have been waiting a while for this, I appreciate your patience.

Expectations

I have over 50 years experience as a musician, and in the digital age with strictly digital front-end systems, I’ve really lost sound quality. The music I was hearing sucked, and it got to the point that I didn’t even listen much anymore…and that makes life sad. I’ve spent years researching tube amps in combination with a quality digital front-end, and knew there was a way I could regain the sound I was missing.

I narrowed my search down from Hybrid Tube/SS amps, to Push Pulls, to SETs, and from high watt to low watt amps with high efficiency speakers. I heard/auditioned many, including: Decware SETs like the SE84UFO25, Feliks Audio Arioso 300B Integrated Amplifier, Luxman MQ-300 Tube Amplifier, Willsenton R300, BoyuuRange Reisong A50, and the Kondo Audio Note Gakuoh II 300B monoblocks.

The Gakuo II 300B monos where the best amps I’ve ever heard…unfortunately, they’re over $125k. My goal was to come as close to that sound as I could, for a lot less. I didn’t want to jump on the audiophile merry-go-round buying then selling amps because of disappointment; my intent was landing on a one-and-done, forever amp. I decided on the Decware Sarah SEWE300B, convinced that a 300B version of the SE84UFO25 would be perfect for me.