04/19/24 at 01:22:58 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Baffle Treatment? (Read 1540 times)
Mannytheseacow
Ex Member

Baffle Treatment?
10/23/22 at 16:32:49

Letting the thoughts flow while I listen and staring at these giant f15 monolith open baffles… would there be any benefit to treating the baffle, front and/or back? It just seems like a giant reflective surface. Has anyone ever mounted the speaker directly into diffuser panel? Or applied absorption to the face of the baffle?
I’m no expert, just thinking out loud and collecting others opinions before going down the next project rabbit hole.

IP Logged
Dominick
Seasoned Member

Still like that old
time Rock and Roll!!

Re: Baffle Treatment?
Reply #1 - 10/24/22 at 16:41:10

I have treated my ERR baffles with the Marigo VTS Tuning Green Dots.  Forum member Will turned me on to them.  They are used to help with imaging, focus and help dissipate vibrational energy.  It was remarkable how well they worked.  They can be over applied…so make sure you follow the instructions.  

They are hard to come by these days…. And there are knock off out there.  It took some digging but I found them last year.  It looks like they have renamed them now….here is the link.

http://marigoaudio.com/z-dot-application/

Hope this helps

Dom

Rasp. Pi 4 [Roon], Schiit Bifrost True Multibit DAC, ZBIT, ZROCK2, My Audio Cables Ultra Silver+, ZSB, CSP2+ 25th, DAG Cables, DHC1, Torii MKIV 25th /2 White Zen SE84C+ 25th mono’s, Rega P2 Turntable,Rega Fono MK5, Velodyne Dual Firing Sub, ERR’s [Bubbinga Wood]
  IP Logged
Mannytheseacow
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 10/25/22 at 16:45:09

Thanks, Dom. I’m surprised that those little things make a difference but I’ll look further into them. Certainly not the greatest addition from an aesthetic aspect.

IP Logged
Dominick
Seasoned Member

Still like that old
time Rock and Roll!!

Reply #3 - 10/26/22 at 05:44:49