Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/27/24 at 00:02:02 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
My high end audio experience (Read 1216 times)
Dr3wman
Seasoned Member

My high end audio experience
10/04/22 at 17:35:29

Over the weekend I had an opportunity at a local hi-fi store to hear Richard Vandersteen give a talk on speaker design and his audio philosophy which was truly fascinating, and I could have listened to him for hours.

At the end of the presentation was a demonstration of his latest Kento Carbon floor standing speakers which run $42,000 per pair.

They were powered by a pair of Vandersteen M5-HPA high pass mono blocks at $17,000/pair.

The source was a dCS Dac ( can't remember which one, but it was at least $20,000) .  I did not take note of any of the other aspects of the system.

I have to say - I was underwhelmed.  I am relatively new to this hobby but the sound was not engaging.

It was impressive in that it was a BIG sound that was crystal clear and played without distortion, but it felt incredibly sterile.  

I would imagine this has as much to do with taste as anything, but I want so much more from my system.  Especially for that kind of money.

When I listen to my comparatively pauper-like system at home, I get drawn into the experience, and I can't count the number of times if I happen to be reading, the music makes me stop and just listen.

While it was certainly a lot of fun to see that level of equipment, it gave me great reassurance to know that you don't have to spend nearly that much to have a transcendent experience.

Torii MKV/25 mods
PS Audio Stellar Phono Preamplifier
Technics SL-1200GR w/ Nagaoka MP-200.
KLH Model 3 speakers..
Sonos connect.
  IP Logged
tempest62
Ex Member

Re: My high end audio experience
Reply #1 - 10/04/22 at 18:08:30

I hear you.

I'm very, very happy so far with my meager $12-14k system, excluding the 2nd system and headphones/cable, most all of it purchased as used components.