Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/19/24 at 00:36:40 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Interconnect length under 1m? (Read 3268 times)
Burgermeester
Seasoned Member

Interconnect length under 1m?
07/10/22 at 09:32:04

The comment below was lifted from another forum, a thread asking why there are no short-short USB cables for audiophiles (text edited for brevity):

"I'm not an expert and USB may be a special case, but I discussed interconnect length (NOT USB specifically) with a high-end cable manufacturer. He believes that interconnect lengths under 1 meter are a big mistake sound-wise. It has to do with 'reflections' in the cable, though I don't pretend to understand the physics. One meter was the least he would recommend."

I've always been driven mad by the dust-accumulating, obstructive, all over the place snaking of cables/interconnects that a system involves -- with all the warnings about not getting interconnects near power cables (good effing luck with that).

I wonder why I need a one meter cable for two devices that could be connected by a 6-inch cable, or a one-meter power cable when the device is a foot from my power conditioner. On top of that I've always believed that shorter is better -- but then again Nelson Pass never said short interconnects were better, only speaker cables.

Do we really need one-meter interconnects?

IP Logged
EdwardT
Seasoned Member

Re: Interconnect length under 1m?
Reply #1 - 07/10/22 at 12:32:43

The only way to know is to listen to them, your ears will tell you the truth.

IP Logged
CAJames
Seasoned Member

"I've run every
red light on memory
lane."

Reply #2 - 07/10/22 at 15:33:24

FWIW here is Steve's response in another thread re: 0.5 M vs. 1.0 M cables:

Quote:
Posted by: Steve Deckert      Posted on: 06/29/22 at 20:29:00

...in my test rig (which is pretty good) I couldn't hear any difference between 1/2 meter prototypes and 1 meter.  

-Steve

But YMMV as always.