Send Topic Print
Stylus Cleaning (Read 5151 times)
Geno
Seasoned Member

Without music, life
would be a mistake.

Stylus Cleaning
03/26/22 at 18:03:15

I have been using an Onzow Zerodust to clean my stylus for a few years now. I read a few bad things about it the other day, and started looking into a different one.

I use a Soundsmith cart, and looked on their website to see what advice I could find. They advise the following. Pretty interesting, and cheap. Right up my alley.

(2)SE84UFO(Balanced Monoblocs) OR Sansui AU-222
Crown sub amp
Cambridge Audio CXN(ModWright) • ZBIT
SL-1210MK5(KAB Mods) Soundsmith Aida MKll cart • Darlington Labs MP-7
Otari MX5050-Bll2 R2R
ZLC Power Cond.
Lii Audio PT-10/W-15 in open baffles
  IP Logged
CAJames
Seasoned Member

"I've run every
red light on memory
lane."

Re: Stylus Cleaning
Reply #1 - 03/26/22 at 21:32:32

Interesting, I use blustik to stick my speakers to the stands. I get the logic, but I'll stick with the bottle of LAST stylus clear I bought almost 40 years ago.

[FOOBAR2000 | Jay's CDT2 MRK3] -> Denafrips Terminator 2 + Gaia
Sumiko Pearwood -> Mapleknoll Athena -> Luxman SUT -> Maple-tree Phono 3E
Woo WA22 -> 2x UFO25s, balanced monos
Omega SAM , Hifiman Arya, Senn HD-650
  IP Logged
Archie
Seasoned Member

Reply #2 - 03/26/22 at 22:43:18

Geno, what bad things did you read about the Onzow?  I would think one sticky thing is as good as the next.  I'm sure though that eventually the diamond gets coated with something that friction alone won't remove.  However, melting the glue that holds the diamond to the cantilever would be a disaster so solvents are worrisome.

ZLC
Technics 1200G TT w/ Ortofon Jubilee MC cart
ZMC1
ZP3 (25th A Mods)
ZR2 (25th A Mods)
CSP3 (25th A mods)
ZMA (25th A mods)
Homemade Big Betsy Speakers (F15s)
Silver Cabling
DIY Isolation platforms under amps & TT.
  IP Logged
Geno
Seasoned Member

Without music, life
would be a mistake.

Reply #3 - 03/26/22 at 23:13:19

Archie,