Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/25/24 at 00:28:50 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Completed ZKIT...With Questions about hum ! (Read 1660 times)
nipsy
Verified Member

Completed ZKIT...With Questions about hum !
02/22/22 at 07:09:20

A big thank you to all who have come before, asked, answered, and commented upon questions posed here. Starting as a complete novice, I've built my first functioning amplifier and I'm quite pleased with the sound and what I assume it is when people speak about the hologram.

I'd like to add the anniversary mods, but am not sure how to find space for them given my current configuration. Eventually I'd like to put it into a box, but at the moment that's way beyond my design and execution skill set.

After nearly 20 or so hours in, I'm noticing 2 sources of minor hum. Sitting in a chair 10+ feet from the speakers and 15+ feet from the amplifier, I hear no hum at all, just pure, sweet music.

First hum is evident in the area of the PCB and transformers. This is a buzzing, electrical energy type hum. I've heard something similar standing beneath high voltage wires in a field somewhere in Ohio.

It's obvious when I'm flipping a record, but seems nearly non existent when I'm 5 feet away...except I *know* it's there.

2nd hum is more of a true hum and it comes out of the speakers. It is faint and I have to put my ear next to the speaker to hear it. At 3-4 feet it becomes inaudible. An input attached or unattached does not affect the presence of the hum.

Once music is playing, I hear nothing but the music, but again, I *know* those hums are there.

I have a couple of hypotheses.

First: I left all wires coming from the input and output transformers quite long as I'll be making structural changes to the mounting. Might this be causing some interference ?

Second: grounding of the potentiometer case. There were instructions to do this, but I'm wondering if I did it correctly.