Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/23/24 at 23:32:21 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
I inherited a mystery amp (Read 3358 times)
wutsatoob
Verified Member

I inherited a mystery amp
09/24/21 at 15:32:37

Hey everyone,

I'm new to audiophilia. It's not a hobby that I planned to get into. However, I have inherited an amplifier that I expect great things from. The amp is a mystery to me. It is one-of-a-kind, and hand-built by an expert in A/V.

I am posting here on recommendation, as there might be someone on this forum that knows something about the specific amp design. That is, flux-nulling, Catskin, SET, with Russian pentode, TV tube output drivers. The tubes used are 6J6A for the first gain stage and 6P36C for the drivers. I think the Russian tubes are a TV sweep amplifier, or something of the sort. One of the grids is internally tied to the cathode. Another is externally connected to the anode. I've heard that this is a way of using a pentode as a simulated triode.

I've posted a "unboxing" video to youtube, but I can't post a link here until I get a couple of standard messages posted first.

What I'm looking for is information on the amp design. I understand the SET concept and that it is highly desirable among audiophiles for its lack of zero-crossing distortion, but what is the "Catskin" variant? Why the TV tube drivers? I understand what magnetic flux is, but how does it impact vacuum tube operation and how is it nulled? And there's something clever going on with the 6J6A tubes. The triodes are not paralleled, nor are they in a push-pull configuration. I'm wondering if there is some kind of sophisticated compensation going on.

I would be most grateful for any information that anyone can share on this subject. I'll post the video link when I am allowed to.

IP Logged
wutsatoob
Verified Member

Re: I inherited a mystery amp
Reply #1 - 09/24/21 at 23:55:06

This is a dummy post so that I can share my video link.

IP Logged
wutsatoob