Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/20/24 at 04:38:53 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Mini Torii as pre-amp for Torii MkIV? (Read 4050 times)
marcvs66
Verified Member

Mini Torii as pre-amp for Torii MkIV?
03/20/19 at 14:59:25

I'm pretty new to the world of high-fidelity and tube-amplification and all that... so, what I'm saying is: I don't really know what I'm doing/I'm lacking the technical background to fully understand tube-technology...

So, last night I started to wonder if adding a pre-amp to my Torii MkV would actually make it sound even better - when I realized - I might be able to use my Mini Torii 2 as a pre-map... maybe...

I wired it into my set-up and to my surprise, it actually worked pretty well and for some reason, I seem to prefer the sound of the Mini Torii/MkIV combination over going straight into the MkIV. I can't really put my finger on what exactly changes in the sound... a little more authoritative, a little more 'control'... and what doesn't seem to make sense at all: a little more transparent-sounding?

The Mini Torii does add a bit more noise into my system - but not to the degree where it is really noticeable.

I do really like the added ability to control my left and right channels w/ the separate volume-knobs on the Mini. My room-situation is less than perfect and it really helps balancing everything out to the point where I get really nice distribution of sound in my usual seating-position.

Question: is this a bad idea? Too many tubes in play? Am I off my rocker? Am I hearing perceived improvements that aren't really there? Am I doing harm?

In theory, I would favor a set-up that has as few components in the chain as possible. Adding the Mini Torii for potentially 'no good reason' seems counter-intuitive... but it really seems to sound slightly better w/ the Mini in the chain?

IP Logged
Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Re: Mini Torii as pre-amp for Torii MkIV?