Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/28/24 at 22:25:36 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Plate voltage of a MkIV (Read 5011 times)
Andrew Bryant
Verified Member

Plate voltage of a MkIV
03/04/18 at 17:50:03

I was curious if anyone knows what the plate voltage of the Torii mkIV is. I am still new at trying to understand everything pertaining to the electrical aspects of vacuum tube amps.
In the owners manual it states
HIGH B+ VOLTAGE: 410 VDC CHOKE REGULATED PER CHANNEL

Is this the same as plate voltage. The reason I am asking is I want to try some different tubes such as the 6AR6 (6098) and I have some RCA 6L6GB tubes on the way. The RCA 6l6GB is rated at 360V which is close I guess and very similar to many original 6l6 tubes.
I have also read that the current that runs through the tube plays a bigger role than the plate voltage. I thought I would ask my questions here first before asking Steve.
The price of NOS tubes is ridiculous and I guess I am just on a quest for some not so mainstream tubes that sound really good. I did just purchase some 1960 GE 6l6GC tubes that are by far the best tube I have run in my Torii so far. Amazing tubes. I got the RCA black plate 6l6GB tubes at about 1/4 the price of the RCA black plate 6l6GC and I just figured they are probably similiar sounding although the GBs will not have the power of the GCs but that is not an issue for me.
Anyway thanks for your time.
Andrew

VPI Scout->ATA pp->
Hovland HP100->Torii mkIV
Neko DAC->
  IP Logged
mark58
Seasoned Member

Re: Plate voltage of a MkIV
Reply #1 - 03/04/18 at 18:15:51