Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/20/24 at 11:50:39 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Torii with 89 db speakers? (Read 15959 times)
Ellsworth
Seasoned Member

Torii with 89 db speakers?
04/14/15 at 02:27:22

I am a newbie here.  I am not in the market for a new amp right now but may be in the coming 6 to 12 months. For reasons obvious to anyone on this forum, the Decware line looks very appealing.   Right now, I am using a pair of Fritz REV 7 speakers that are 4 ohm, 89 db sensitivity.  The Preamp is a Tortuga passive (no gain).

These are not exactly high efficiency speakers that would easily work well with a SET amp.  Of the Decware line, the Torii looks like my best bet.   (I can't afford the ZMA or monos).  Does anyone have experience driving speakers of a similar profile with a Torii ?  Any thoughts are appreciated.

IP Logged
alper_yilmaz
Seasoned Member

Re: Torii with 89 db speakers?
Reply #1 - 04/14/15 at 13:05:28

Hi Ellsworth,

TORII should be fine to drive those speakers.  I used to run my TORII mkII through 91dB - 8 ohm B&W DM630 speakers with relatively more complex crossovers.  When I tried to run it with 87dB ProAC D28s, I had some clipping.

A night-time listening experience should perfectly fine, but it would not be party-level volumes during the day time...

Best,

Alper

Mac Mini
Audirvana
Rega RP6 w/ Ania Pro & Rega Fono MC MK4
Rotel RCD1070
Hegel HD30 & Copland DAC215
Fezz Audio Mira Ceti 300B, Decware SE84UFO25, Decware SE34I.2+ & Copland CTA405
ProAc D28, B&W DM630 & Rega RS1
Stein & BlackNoise filters
DH Labs cables
  IP Logged
Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Reply #2 - 04/14/15 at 13:27:07

If you can't afford a ZMA or the big monos (join the club!) the Torii is your best bet. I agree with Alper's assessment.