Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Smoking Transformers! (Read 9801 times)
hostler
Verified Member

Smoking Transformers!
03/16/15 at 22:55:48

Hi

I recently bought my first Decware Amp via Ebay - a mini Torii.

I'm new to tube amps, but fairly savvy when it comes to Hifi and all things electrical.

However, when I power up the Amp all I hear is mains hum, and after about a minute a strong burning smell and smoke coming from the transformers!!

The volume and tone controls do not respond/crackle or seem to change anything. The source is not amplified.

Some of the tubes glow (though not all) but i'm not sure which ones will/won't as i'm inexperienced.

The only positive thing that can be done is to enable/disable the left or right channels - which do switch on or off the mains hum to each channel.

It's a 240V unit according to the sticker on the bottom, being used on a 240CV supply. I connected the amp to some B&W 601's.

I have written to the vendor to see if they tested the unit prior to shipping, but meantime I wonder if the community here can help shed any light on what might be causing this. I only have the set of tubes supplied to hand, and non appeared damaged in transit.

I was so looking forward to hearing my first Decware Amp. Hope I get to soon!

Many thanks

Tom

IP Logged
jorgen
Seasoned Member

Re: Smoking Transformers!
Reply #1 - 03/17/15 at 10:36:40

Hi Tom
firstly: congtrats on a decware amp, i have the same one, a 240 volt since i live in Norway. Are you the one who won the auctioned minitorii on ebay?