05/05/24 at 20:43:19 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Torii Mk3 Questions (Read 3229 times)
RJR
Seasoned Member

Torii Mk3 Questions
03/23/13 at 18:03:18

I will be talking to Steve but I still want to get some feedback on this forum, too.  This seems a bit strange, but I am not an engineer nor really experienced with tube amps, and maybe because of the tube amp design, it is.  Have any of you experienced any of this with this amp or any others?  Apparently it is OK.

1) When I had my music source plugged into input A, the source switch in the front was actually on B.  I could hear music through the speakers.  It was not loud but it definitely was audible and could get louder when you raised the volume.  It would seem that the music should not bleed over from A to B.

2) When the bias switch is towards the back and I toggle it towards the front, a loud pop comes out of the speakers.

3) When I touch any part of the amp and there is static electricity, the speakers make a "popping" sound.

4) Touch a tube and the sound of me tapping the tube resonates out of the speakers. I know what your thinking, but this was by accident.

Look forward to hearing from you.

IP Logged
Syd
Seasoned Member

Re: Torii Mk3 Questions
Reply #1 - 03/23/13 at 20:12:21

Long shot.
I would  check the mains plug, although you`re probaly using a purpose built lead. Live and neutral should Not be reversed.

Decware: Rachaels x 2 bridged, C. SP2+, ZP3, ZMC1, DHC-1 pw/cbl`s Michell Orbe + SME V + M.Benz LP s, Arcam CD33, Nakamichi LX5, Lowther acoustas DX2`s, WE 16g sp/cbl`s, Isotek mains substation, M & K subwoofer, Belden 8402 interconnects.
  IP Logged
will
Seasoned Member

Reply #2 - 03/23/13 at 20:49:53

Talking with Steve about amp issues is always a good idea when you can't get the answers here.