Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
05/07/24 at 08:56:13 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Computer Audio - Music Server (Read 25196 times)
maddog07
Seasoned Member

seeker of truth

Computer Audio - Music Server
08/28/12 at 23:26:33

I'm a bit new to the Decware family and this forum, but was surprised I did not find a thread on this topic - so let's start one!

anybody out there who would like to share their experience with setting up a Music server?  

The last few years out at RMAF, there were nary a few rooms where music was not served up via a laptop or some kind of computing device.  I gotta tell ya, sitting on my fat arse in a big easy chair, with touch screen access to all my music, without moving, is very appealing!  ;D

So I have been contemplating how best to accomlish this, both in terms of ease of use and sound quality.

I just bought a stand alone DAC that can serve as my hub for receiving all things digital (but I haven't completely retired my trusty ole CD player quite yet).  And I have an iPad 3, that with the simple installation of an app. can serve as my controller/interface wirelessly.  

Now I'm contemplating buying a new laptop with its main purpose to serve as a music server.  I have thought about going the Mac route, but I need to stay MS based due to apps I would need to run on this machine to provide office connectivity for support from time to time.  
I have also contemplated the stand alone server route, like Olive or Wyred4Sound, but a laptop is not only less expensive, but much more flexible in terms of overall functionality and usefulness I think.  Though I'm finding darn few laptops that have a spdif/coax digital out on them.

So.... Decwarian's... let's go - spill it - is anybody out there "serving" up their music collection and how are ya accomplishing it?  The good, the bad & the ugly....