05/07/24 at 06:46:39 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Aural Memory... (Read 5594 times)
Mark
Seasoned Member

Aural Memory...
07/08/12 at 23:09:27

I heard some mention of this somewhere on the forums here (don't recall where), and I'd like to add a few things:

As a long-term musician I have either been blessed or cursed with a good aural (auditory) memory... And that, of course, includes both live music, and recorded mediums in whatever format...

Ex: In 1975, I lived and worked in NYC in audio sales, and we were setting up a new store uptown called Audio Salon... To shorten the story, Bud Fried (IMF, Fried) comes in with his new Model H system with the transmission line bass commodes... We hooked the things up to some Audio Research gear in our best soundroom, using a Thorens TT with London Decca MC cartridge... One thing I remember is that the cartridge didn't even have a cantilever!... Just some kind of solid mounting arrangement...

Anyway, the sound was so good, it literally ruined my ear almost to this day... My ear 'remembered' what I heard, and it tainted all that came afterwards... Truth was, I could never afford the gear I listened to that day, and it pained me greatly...

Click to the present: I've since learned to train my ear to accept lesser sources than that system, and it took a good amount of doing, I can tell you that much...  One thing that really surprised me was how close low power SET amps came to that nirvana moment...

Note: Irving 'Bud' Fried has since passed away, rest his soul... He was a great guy, and was always available for a talk about audio stuff... I visited him at his home in Phila. a few times, and he had all manner of prototypes to hear in his living room... All based on that wonderful T-line bass system. The best unfettered low freq. extension I've ever heard... He was a real pioneer in high quality audio...