Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Low volume problem. (Read 11441 times)
timh
Verified Member

Low volume problem.
01/22/12 at 01:45:30

Hello,
I'm new to electronics and this is my first amp build.  I've gotten all the way through, hooked it up to my speakers and my CD player and it works but the volume is very low.  I can't even hear it until the volume knob is up halfway.  I am driving Audio Nirvana speakers with 95 dB sensitivity so I should be alright there.  Is this a voltage problem or polarity?

IP Logged
Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Re: Low volume problem.
Reply #1 - 01/22/12 at 14:14:00

Like you, I would expect more with 95 db speakers. I think the best thing to do is to call and talk to Steve. He is most easily reached by phone, and he would probably know in seconds where to look to find the cure. . . .

HR-1,ZTPRE,ZBIT,ZROCK2,SEWE300B,CSP3-25mod,Taboo MkIV;Rega RP3 all GrooveTracer mods;PSAudio:PST+DSD,P15,NPC,PowerBases,AC-12 pwr cbls,Reference spkrcbls;Mapleshade SamsonV3;VooDoo:Cremona+Amati interconnects, IsoPods; headphones:Sennheiser HD800S,ZMF Ori,Oppo PM1
  IP Logged
dank
Seasoned Member

pair of dual 18
Imperials

Reply #2 - 01/22/12 at 22:46:56

Timh

Audio Nirvanas work well with the Zkit1.  I've run 6.5", 8", and 12" over the years.  Should be no problem driving them.

Is the volume coming out of the speakers the same on both the L and R channels?  Try placing your head between the speakers and adjusting the volume control from 0 to full.  Does the balance seem to stay constant with the left side being about the same volume as the right side?  If so, I'd guess that your source is too low and there is nothing wrong with the Zkit1.  Can you try a different source?