Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/27/24 at 02:09:47 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
new edcor transformer help (Read 25227 times)
coopercustoms
Verified Member

new edcor transformer help
10/27/11 at 00:19:56

I'm new to this and just need someone to hold my hand. The new edcor transformers have different color wires than are silkscreened on the board. The updated schematic helps a little but I would really like a clear translation between the new wire colors and what is on the circut board. Thanks for any help.

IP Logged
Kaloyanr
Ex Member

Re: new edcor transformer help
Reply #1 - 10/27/11 at 01:48:39

me too I need some info for this.

IP Logged
dank
Seasoned Member

pair of dual 18
Imperials

Reply #2 - 10/27/11 at 17:32:07

You need to identify the two primary wires (they go to B+ and the tube plate) and the secondary wires (they go to the speaker).  With a DVM (digital volt/ohm meter - digital multimeter) measure the 4 wires.  The two that read just a couple of ohms are the secondary, and the two that read a few hundred ohms are the primary.  If you don't have a DVM, buy one...you have no business building a Zkit1 without one.  The cheapest DVM you can find, even the $2 one, when on sale at Harbor Freight, will be plenty good enough.  As far as phase and +/- go, usually the + is a color and the - is black or white.  Red is almost always +, black is almost always -.  For sure, hook up both transformers the same way and you can't go too far wrong.

Dan

IP Logged
coopercustoms
Verified Member

Reply #3 - 10/27/11 at 18:18:53

thanks. i do have a meter and i do know the values of the leads coming from the transformers. output transformers make sense with the exception of the screen wire. does this go to the board? it's the power transformer I need the most help with. primary is easy. secondary is a little confusing.

IP Logged
dank
Seasoned Member

pair of dual 18
Imperials

Reply #4 - 10/28/11 at 14:38:42