Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
05/04/24 at 23:21:25 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Need Decware Suggestions... (Read 5380 times)
dxp100
Ex Member

Need Decware Suggestions...
08/30/10 at 02:48:01

Hi all,

I'm a musician who does not speak electronica but I do have golden ears. I'm rather new to the whole SET thing; it's simplicity and purity really interests me.

I currently have a Emotiva solid state system that doesn't move me. It's not a bad system but the sound is too "in yo' face" for me. My favorite amp to this day was an old Dynaco ST-70 that was high maintenance but sang like a bird. It crapped out on me years ago.

I not a DIY type. I have a med-large listening room (poured concrete basement...the "man cave"). I listen at moderate (sometime moderate-high) sound levels. I seek musicality above anything else. I wanna stay with a SET amp.

I listen to vinyl and CD. I have a Emotiva preamp but do I really need it??? Is the sound purer without a preamp on Decware SET amps? How do I get vinyl playback on the Decware SET amps? Do I have to purchase a phono-stage?

I'm looking for a SET amp(s) and speakers that mate like rabbits. Any Decware product suggestions? Price range is <4k. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

IP Logged
Brian
Seasoned Member

Re: Need Decware Suggestions...
Reply #1 - 08/30/10 at 07:13:30

Hi,
Yes you will need a phonograph amp into your main amp. Preamps with CD players are optional so far as functioning is concerned, but some Decware amps sound better with one, while other models don't need it.  
I will defer to listeners with more experience to answer more specifically.

IP Logged
Rivieraranch
Seasoned Member

Reply #2 - 08/30/10 at 12:33:35

When you say SET, you are limiting yourself to the Zen, Select and the Zen Triode Integrated. The TABOO, Mini Torii and Torii are SEP.

The TABOO will need a preamp to bring it to its full potential. You may prefer using one with the Zen products as well.