05/04/24 at 23:59:45 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
What about bass? (Read 1147 times)
Chris K
Seasoned Member

What about bass?
11/30/09 at 03:44:19

I'd like to start a general discussion on probably (IMHO) the second most cantankerous subject/problem in our stereo listening lives. The first being a vicious room response in the critical midrange and upper mids that has a tendency to just jump out and "bite" you in the ears.
Room treatment abound for that mess.

But this is about BASS. And that is a subject that rooms and speakers and recordings all conspire to give great puzzle and questions that arise in ones mind when some part just seems lacking in the bass or is "bloated" and overdone.
OH it's not that the bass is always bad or non-existent but just that certain places in the room suck out and others are rock solid and there is just no two ways about it. I've had some prevailing experiences which have lead me to the conclusion that speakers as good at producing great bass as all the pairs I have (6) are not the problem and have never been the problem. As simple minded and obvious as that may sound to more experienced audiophiles than myself, it is nevertheless a really vexing issue when you have a system that is doing everything right and then some piece of music you heard 100 times before fails to deliver what you expected in your mind to be the "impact" or power you thought was contained within. So you move to a boundary of the room and viola, there it is. Or at least some of it. Now this is all notwithstanding the stupendous soundstage and other goodies you've already dialed into your system. It is at least a given that you are getting some pretty palpable and amazing sound out of your equipment at this point. But I'm talking the last drop of room coupled, evenhanded, bottomless force that is in my estimation possible with as little as 5 watts if all is right.