03/19/24 at 15:00:13 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Introduction/Question (Read 9134 times)
TubeNoob
Ex Member

Introduction/Question
01/18/08 at 08:07:12

As I am new to this forum, I would like to take this chance to introduce myself! I am a college student in Blacksburg, VA studying electrical engineering. I have always been obsessed with audio and vacuum tubes. Now that I am getting into some actual "electronics" classes, I am disappointed to discover that tube amplifier circuits will never be discussed in any class. I have, however, just found/ordered a few textbooks on the topic! But alas, they are not here yet. SO! the question that I have for you all: there was some talk a while back about converting the Z-plate to an Aikido audio circuit...I'm totally new to DIY tubes but am interested in this idea, and dying to get involved. Could anyone provide more information on what kinds of changes to the z-plate this would require? I would specifically like to know how this would alter the power supply circuit in the z-plate. (I don't actually know how it works anyways) It would be a great project for me to build the z-plate, listen, experiment, and then swap the Aikido circuitry, especially if the z-plate has the parts that the Aikido kit does not come with in the first place..but I'm not exactly sure what that would entail. Any information for my starving brain would be greatly appreciated! (and thanx in advance for being patient)

IP Logged
Doorman
Seasoned Member

"pouring from
the empty into the
void"

Re: Introduction/Question
Reply #1 - 01/18/08 at 16:46:45

ToobNoob: LIke you, I'll be interested in the answers you'll no doubt get. Welcome to the forum!
                                                                                                                           Don

Decware, Rega, Heybrook/Linn/Ortofon
Goertz/Wireworld/cat-5/MarkAudio Alpair 10.2 drivers
(eN) in DIY Mar-Ken cabs
NHT SB3’s
  IP Logged
Terry
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 02/11/08 at 08:26:27