Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/24/24 at 15:24:51 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
New Zen owner - dazed and confused (Read 2724 times)
kdwhite
Verified Member

New Zen owner - dazed and confused
02/09/07 at 16:07:39

I am the proud owner of a shiny new SE84ZS.  Steve graciousely agreed to provide an example in kit form.  I spent almost a week carefully assembling my new baby.  The results have been good, yet a little confusing for me as I am new to the world of SET.

The first thing I noticed with this amp is that it is nearly stone quiet.  With my Klipsch Fortes connected I struggled to hear any noise even with my ear against the speakers!  Very impressive.

My first few hours of listening impressed me with a very musical sound and surprising sound stage.  However, I could only achieve very moderate listening levels.  I expected more volume with these speakers.  Turning the volume up past about 25% produced audible distortion in the mid-freqs.  A descent pair of interconnects seamed to resolve the distortion.  These interconnects are chinese made "Acoustic Research" brand purchased from Best Buy.  (Please don't cringe!)

I was using my Samsung CD/DVD player temporarily.  It sounded OK, but not stellar.  I received an OPPO HD-750 universal player and now I'm using that.  While it is not the ultimate source it is pretty darned good for $149!