Send Topic Print
wo help...... thx (Read 21976 times)
phd5000
Ex Member

wo help...... thx
05/12/06 at 05:52:36

im planing on a wo box for my 2 polk mm2084 8"

http://www.polkaudio.com/caraudio/specs/mm2084/

i have built a few box's ( all sealed ) and have a ton of wood working experance so building this is not a prob but i dont really understand "tone porting" any help would be great.....
what would be best to run the woofers i have....

thx again  im a rookie on a mission Smiley

IP Logged
J_Rock
Ex Member

Re: wo help...... thx
Reply #1 - 05/12/06 at 07:00:21

I don't really understand your question?  Are you looking for what amp would work well?  Or perhaps how big you should make the WO?

IP Logged
phd5000
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 05/12/06 at 08:10:28

ya waht size would be best......  for the speakers i have
i have allways just bult boxes to specs ( sealed ) i dont really understand the whole bandpass/porting  

here's the box i was going to build...
http://www.polkaudio.com/caraudio/subbox/subbox_plan.php?id=45&mesurements=stand...

but the wo looks better & probly sounds better

IP Logged
phd5000
Ex Member

Reply #3 - 05/12/06 at 10:11:57

so i guess what my q is

1 what size  should i make my seald chamber
2 how would i "tune " this to 43 hz... im lost when it comes to this
thx again guys for any help
heres the specs from polk

Recommended Enclosure Sealed / Ported / Bandpass
Resonant Frequency 43 Hz
Qms 15.13
Qes .68
Qts .65
Vas 0.562 cu.ft./15.9 L
Bl 10.2 Tesla Meters
Sd 34.72 sq.in. / 224 sq. cm.
Xmax (linear) .709 in. / 18 mm.
Le 1.84 mH

IP Logged
phd5000
Ex Member

Reply #4 - 05/13/06 at 04:18:17

time to cut some angles.... i have the back & 2 sides done..
i made it 36 x 24 it made the seald chamber .51 & the speakers call for .40 or .46 i got 2 numbers from 2 free programs so all start at .5 and work my way to under .40 to see waht sounds best..

IP Logged
J_Rock
Ex Member

Reply #5 - 05/13/06 at 06:07:56