Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/20/24 at 16:14:27 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Funny thing happened today... (Read 6434 times)
trashfire
Ex Member

Funny thing happened today...
04/10/06 at 23:01:10

I think my HW may have been alive and self aware.  I see parts express running a sale on some cheap goldwood 10's.  I have a pair of old 10" KLH monitors that need replacing so I ordered a pair. Then I figured I might as well get 2 more to build a WO32, just to try it.  

Well, I think the HW knew I wasn't loyal at that point.  Now, I've been working in IT for many many years and I know computers run on the pressurized smoke system.  I didn't realize subwoofers did too.  I let some of the smoke out of my 15's this afternoon.

Kicker said they'd handle 1000W a piece.  Well, I didn't get even close to pushing that (yes it was clean power) when they started making some nasty noise only describable as a death rattle and then the smoke.

I don't know nearly as much as many of the forum members here when it comes to the internals of a speaker.  So just for my education, what happened?

I pulled out one of the subs and it appears intact, however the cone moves freely where before there was some resistance.  There's also that funky burnt electronics smell and of course the smoke.

Also, just kicks, how do you disassemble a speaker (or can you)?  I'd like to see the internals.

Thanks all.

Better get crackin on the deathbox for the 12's and now the WO32 for the 10's...

Also need some febreeze to get rid of that funky smell in my theater...

Chris

IP Logged
stvcmty
Ex Member

Re: Funny thing happened today...
Reply #1 - 04/11/06 at 00:25:36

This page http://colomar.com/Shavano/recone.html does a good job describing speaker damage, along with how to take them apart.

Stv

IP Logged
gexter
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 04/11/06 at 05:53:12

[quote author=trashfire  link=1144710070/0#0 date=1144706470]