04/29/24 at 11:18:15 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
2/3 scale WO (Read 5329 times)
theycallmebrain
Ex Member

2/3 scale WO
11/03/05 at 20:51:46

hello , new audio head here,and just finished fitting all of the pieces on a 2/3 scale WO. I have a 1987 toyota 4 runner and am having fun and learnin with a bunch of speakers that i have acquired. in the WO i am gonna first put some sony speakers out of a mini "hi-fi" model # ss-rg20. i have no idea what the parameters are i just scaled down the original #'s by 1/3.i am a carpenter so if anyone has those type of ? i can help but I need help with a couple right now. before i assemble the speaker should I leave the wood bare or cover it with like carpet padding? am i supposed to eliminate all sharp corners on  the inside?......HATS OFF TO MR.DECKERT...this is an incredible design idea and was challenging for me a 10 carpenter. a word of advice to the few and the brave..take your time and if the first piece gets a lil too short before it fits start with a longer one!!!!!!!!!make the angles right from the start!!!! 1 little imperfect fit only compoundsand forget the tape measure once you got your layout just mark and cut it won't confuse you as much. any input into my experiment will be anxious enjoyed and appreciated  
 thank you amnd i'll give my input after i hear it  
 Jason    AKA Brain[color=Red][/color]  
 IP Logged  

IP Logged
lunarlab
Ex Member

Re: 2/3 scale WO
Reply #1 - 11/04/05 at 01:23:41

Always round any corner where high air velocity may cause turbulence....I use a 3/8 roundover for port corners and any bracing that may effect airflow.  I am curious how your 2/3 size will sound......

IP Logged
BigAir
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 11/04/05 at 04:22:31

A full sized Wicked One takes up a little over 10 cubic feet. (36x36x13.5/1728=10.1) If you scale down every dimension by 1/3,  (36" down to 24" and 13.5" down to 9") you will end up with a Wicked One that takes up only 3 cubic feet.  That's a lot less than 2/3 scale.