Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/19/24 at 17:17:39 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Resistor choice - Zkit1 (Read 1941 times)
ripHST
Verified Member

Resistor choice - Zkit1
02/24/22 at 04:29:01

Hi all,

Noob here getting ready to start my first amplifier project.  In researching some other potential projects, I stumbled upon several discussions about the different types of resistors, and more specifically, how noisy and unstable the carbon comp resistors are.  Has anyone here replaced the carbon comp with metal film for that reason?  Better yet, has anyone done a comparison?  I’m wondering if there is some desirable sonic character to the cc resistor and that’s why it’s specified?  I’d rather not worry about the resistor changing over time, but also don’t want to change the character of a well regarded amp, if that’s a concern.  Thanks….still learning the basics so I appreciate any constructive input.

IP Logged
JBzen
Seasoned Member

Re: Resistor choice - Zkit1
Reply #1 - 02/24/22 at 14:12:28

Hi ripHST and welcome.

Steve's only comment about the carbon resistors is how well it can handle current surges. He spent many hours changing components fine tuning these circuits. I have not met him in person but have a good amount of respect for his ability to know what sounds good.

Every part leaves its signature on the audio wave. A well tuned complete system incuding room, boundary material, contents, and equipment will reveal any change that is made. Its finding the settling point in ones psychic that is difficult.

John

AMC CD8b>XO3>Cambridge CXN2>ZDAC>ZBOX>braided silver/occ> Zrock2>CSP2+>SE84 milflex copper 25th>9AWG silver/copper braid>lii Crystal 10 in Huijgen cabinets. Ortofon 2M Black>JVC QL-F4/Otari MX5050B2>ZP3. Isolation. AC filtering. Room treatment.
  IP Logged
ripHST
Verified Member

Reply #2 - 03/04/22 at 00:02:29