Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/29/24 at 12:22:28 

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Torii Mk IV Transformer Hum through speakers (Read 13113 times)
PipHelix
Verified Member

Torii Mk IV Transformer Hum through speakers
01/27/22 at 00:56:28

I’ve owned my Torii Mk IV for about a year now. I bought it on the 2nd hand market when it was about 9 months old. From the jump, there was always a slight hum when the amp was hooked up to my 96dB Omega XRS floor standers. Hooked up to my less efficient Klipsch RP 600Ms, I don’t hear the hum at all. I’ve listened to various amp hum sound files online and this is around 60Hz.

I used to think it was a peculiarity of tube amps (I’m new to them) but I’ve learned it’s not supposed to happen.

I’m not sure if the hum is louder lately or not, but I’m tired of it, especially during quiet passages of music and during late night quiet listening sessions.

Some info:

—I can hear the transformers on the amp humming when I get up close to it.

—In pitch, it’s the same hum as I hear in the speakers. However, it’s louder through the speakers than at the amp

—It hums when disconnected from all sources and when it’s the only device powered out of the outlet.

—The hum doesn’t get louder or quieter with the volume knob. It’s at a constant pitch and volume.

—I don’t have tons of spare tubes but it hums with EL34s and KT66s as well as with two different sets of rectifier tubes.

What should I do? Live with it? Go solid state? Other?

IP Logged
JP
Verified Member

Re: Torii Mk IV Transformer Hum
Reply #1 - 01/27/22 at 03:58:32

Looking forward  to an answer because I have the exact same issue with the Tori jr mk2

IP Logged
Lin
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 01/27/22 at 17:10:19

Have you checked for DC on your AC line?

IP Logged
PipHelix
Verified Member

Reply #3 - 01/27/22 at 17:22:36